Skip to main content

CultureSource is proud to announce that 54 Creators of Culture grants have been made to independent arts organizers, curators, and journalists throughout Southeast Michigan.

From queer DJ collectives, to performing arts festival organizers, and visual arts journalists, the grants made in this cycle reflect the diversity of independent arts activity taking place in the region.

The 2023 iteration of the program was informed by our research partner WolfBrown’s An Investment Framework for Supporting the Artists Ecosystem for inspiration. The report recommends support for those who strengthen ties between artists and audiences, recognizing their critical role in enhancing a flourishing, local arts ecosystem.

Based on these recommendations, CultureSource identified arts organizers, curators, and journalists as individuals who play an essential role in increasing the visibility of creative activity in the region. These individuals share the responsibility of highlighting artists and providing opportunities for them to share their work with the public.

With equity as a core belief, the Creators of Culture program aims to support those who may not qualify for traditional funding support but contribute greatly to our creative ecosystem in Southeast Michigan. These unrestricted grants can support both the personal and professional needs of the recipients.

The $1,300 grants were generously funded by The Kresge Foundation and the Hudson-Webber Foundation, who have supported Creators of Culture since its inception in 2019.

Gerrard Allen
Garnette Archer
Bernycia Askew
Shaina Baira
Chanel Beebe
saylem celeste
Joseph Darling
Raymond Elwart Jr.
Kim Fay
Chelsea Flowers
Reshounn Foster
Crystal Gause
Clare Gatto
Laura D. Gibson
Taylor Greenshields
Asia Hamilton
Eugene Harris
Colibri Harris
Gabriel Herrera-Duran
Woodrow Hoffer II
Donna Jackson
Colleen Jones
Jennifer Jones
Xavier Jones
Brittany King
LaShaun Kotaran
Mark Loeb
Ian Matchett
Shanna Maurizi
Zllen McCollum
Elijah Meisse
Imani Mixon
Denise Moore
Andrew Morton
Kindra Parker
Paulina Petkoski
Lynnette Roberson
Elisandra Rosario
Mike Ross
Asiana Scott
James Shanek
Sarah Sharp
Katie Shulman
Lori Stratton
Virginia Torrence
Lauren Uchalik
Amara Vear
Kesiena Wanogho
Kaylan Waterman
Dasia Werts
Tony Whitfield
Kaleigh Wilder
Yhasmin Wilder
Rosemarie Wilson

A special thank you to our partners at the The Kresge Foundation and the Hudson-Webber Foundation.